21
Jan
09

i haven’t forgotten…

I meant to update months ago with photos of H’s german chocolate birthday cupcakes.  Then we couldn’t find the photos, which were taken when our old camera started dying.  I was bummed and  didn’t really have any desire to post anything.  Then I got sucked into the Twilight saga.  Well, if you’re a fan you probably know what that means.  Life outside of  Forks and Edward Cullen ceased – even baking! (H and I are still listening to the audio books during our commute to work, but we’re almost through with those too :() Before I knew it Thanksgiving was around the corner.  I felt so busy even though I probably did most of my baking and cooking on the day before Thanksgiving.  All of a sudden December was here and I was partially living in my kitchen baking tons of cookies, shopping, wrapping, and running around.  *Sigh* And now January is almost over and I wonder where all the time went.  I know, excuses, excuses. I actually think about posting pretty often – it’s sitting down and doing it that I have trouble keeping up with.  Maybe I should make a resolution to update at least once a month… 🙂  I’ve finally accepted the fact that I probably won’t be able to catch up all in one post this time.  Here’s October for now:

(I’m having issues with photos and text right now.  Don’t know what happened – it was perfectly fine before my last save – augh!)

Apples Galore

One of my co-workers has organic apple trees and gave me a grocery bag full of granny smiths.  I was able to make an apple pie and an apple slab pie.  I loved the apple slab.  It reminded H and I of those 50 cent hand pies you get at the grocery store because of the icing – these were WAY better though!

apple pie

pile of apples

apple pieApple Pie

huge crust for the apple slabhuge crust for the apple slab
the apple slab the apple slab

a closer looka closer look

Cinnamon Rolls

I got hooked on no-knead dough and made cinnamon rolls and sticky buns a few times (for some reason I don’t have any photos of the sticky buns  – they were stick-to-your-teeth delicious).

naked cinnamon rollsnaked cinnamon rolls
all dressed upall dressed up

Chocolate!

I was excited when I found out that Ghirardelli’s bittersweet chocolate was a Cooks Illustrated favorite.  I really like Scharffen Berger, but it’s easier for me to find Ghirardelli where I live.  When I found out there was a Ghirardelli Outlet in San Leandro I just had to check it out. H and I stopped by one weekend after visiting my parents and I stocked up – it was SO much cheaper than buying it at the grocery store.

chocolate shopping spreechocolate shopping spree
pure chocolatepure chocolate

Biscuits

I had a craving for a McDonalds bacon, egg,  and cheese biscuit one morning so I was going to try to make my own.  I found a recipe for simple drop biscuits in my America’s Test Ktichen baking book (one of my favorites).  They were super easy to make – buttery and delicious.  Maybe a little too buttery, but I still enjoyed them.  Unfortunately, the bacon, egg, and cheese part went out the window.

simple drop biscuitssimple drop biscuits

Sprinkles

H and I visited Sprinkles in Palo Alto. I was really excited because I had never been to a Sprinkles.  From all the ones we tried, I think I liked the red velvet the most, except that I could sort of taste the red coloring.

coconut, dark chocolate, red velvet, chocolate marshmallowcoconut, dark chocolate, red velvet, chocolate marshmallow

Vat of Vanilla

I received a COOKS catalogue in the mail one day with a free shipping code.  I poured through the catalogue trying to find a good deal.  They had this jug of vanilla that was way cheaper per ounce than the little 4 oz. bottles I had been buying.

almost a jug of vanillaalmost a jug of vanilla

*Sigh* It’s nice to be somewhat caught up.  I’ll be back soon for the rest 🙂

0 Responses to “i haven’t forgotten…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

