07
Feb
09

january – a recap

I didn’t think I’d have to do a January recap, but it somehow flew by too.  Here’s what I was up to the first half of the month.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Cupcakes

I made these cupcakes for a friend’s birthday.  This was before the peanut scare.  (These were perfectly safe by the way.)  I think this is my new favorite.

look at how dark that cocoa powder is
look at how dark that cocoa powder is
black chocolate cupcakes
black chocolate cupcakes
peanut butter buttercream
peanut butter buttercream
img_2189-edited

topped with chocolate shards and english toffee
topped with chocolate and english toffee

Mixed Berry Cobbler

H and I had some friends over for dinner and I made this mixed berry cobbler for dessert.  It had a biscuit topping and used frozen berries – raspberry, blueberry, and blackberries.

mixed berry cobbler

img_2209-edited

Vanilla Cupcakes

These are yellow cupcakes with vanilla buttercream.    I just felt like baking one night and trying a new recipe.  I’m still looking for my favorite vanilla cupcake.  I made pink and white buttercream because I ended up topping them with frosted circus animal cookies (hence the nonpareils).

white frosted cupcakes
pink frosted cupakes

Kara’s Cupcakes – Trip 2

H and I stopped at Kara’s again.  We were in San Jose to pick up my MIL from the airport so I scheduled a trip to Kara’s since it’s only a few minutes away.  We were in a hurry and didn’t think of picking up coffee first. The caramel fleur de sel was good, but super rich.  We went to Peet’s after to wash it down.

Kara's Cupcakes
lemon, coconut, fleur de sel
lemon, coconut, fleur de sel
caramel fleur de sel cupcake
chocolate fleur de sel cupcake

0 Responses to “january – a recap”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

