24
Mar
09

salted caramel

I’ve been wanting to make salted caramel cupcakes ever since I saw this recipe on cupcakeblog.  This past Christmas one of my friends gave me a jar of fleur de sel so I made some salted caramels and salted caramel cupcakes for her birthday.

salted caramel gift

I originally planned to make the salted caramels in Chocolate Obsession which are covered in tempered chocolate and splinkled with fleur de sel.  Then I saw this recipe for chocolate salted caramels on Gourmet.  These had the chocolate mixed into the caramel and I could avoid trying to temper chocolate for now.  I read through a lot of the reviews, trying to make sure I didn’t end up with caramels that were too soft or too hard.

making caramelIt seemed like most of the reviewers had different temperatures that worked for them so I decided not to rely on temperature alone.  In addition to temperature, I also spooned small amounts of the caramel mixture into an ice water bath to see how it set up.  I’m glad I did it this way because the temperature at which I stopped the caramel was different from the temperature in the recipe.  The caramels were perfect but then hardened a few days later so I had to put a warning on my gift tag that the caramels needed to be microwaved for a few seconds.

salted caramels I ended up with an extra treat after making the salted chocolate caramels.  Instead of filling the caramel covered pot with water to get all the gooey caramel off, I filled it with milk and enjoyed a salted caramel hot chocolate.  I couldn’t waste all that good stuff!

When it was time to make the cupcakes, I couldn’t decide on what kind of chocolate cupcakes I wanted to pair with the salted caramel frosting so I made 2 batches: one batch of the chocolate cupcakes from cupcakeblog and another batch from a different recipe.

chocolate cupakes

In the end, I decided to go with the darker, more delicate chocolate cupcakes.

salted caramel cupcakes

I froze and cut up some of the extra salted caramel to place on top of the cupcakes just like chockylit had but after a few minutes it was melted and runny.  I didn’t want to leave it like that so I cut up some of the chocolate salted caramels and stuck them on.  These cupcakes were really good – I can’t wait to make them again!

1 Response to “salted caramel”


  1. October 11, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Great photos! I love caramel and making it is a lot of fun too. I had a ball making these homemade caramel apples by Martha Stewart. Perfect for Halloween!
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/classic-caramel-apples/


Leave a Reply

