10
Apr
09

perfect party cake

I’m so glad it’s Friday!  I meant to update earlier in the week, but I was too lazy.  It’s been a long week and I’m super tired but I feel more freedom to keep going because it’s Friday. I’ve already been sitting in front of a computer all day but I really wanted to try to catch up before the weekend.

Two weekends ago H and I hosted a good-bye party for friends who were moving out of state.  I really wanted to make a cool cake for them, but in the end I ran out of time and had to settle on just making a regular cake (delicious but kind of plain in decor).  I made the Perfect Party Cake recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking From My Home to Yours.  I’ve been wanting to make this cake for a long time because I had a feeling it would be similar to my favorite cake from Linn’s.

perfect-party-cake

It was a white cake filled with strawberry jam and swiss meringue buttercream.  The cake texture was pretty close to the Linn’s cake but I think I need to work on it a little more.  I think the Linns cake is a little more tender.  I had wanted to at least pipe on the cake but I ended up just having enough time to put some strawberries on it.

perfect party cake

It wasn’t what I had planned, but it was still good.  I also made a filipino leche flan for the first time.  I’ve made flan before but I don’t remember where I got the recipe from; it wasn’t a filipino flan though.  This was so easy to make, but a little too rich.  I’m going to cut down on the egg yolks next time and add vanilla bean and some rum (one of my friends said that his sister puts rum in her flan so I want to try it).

leche flan

It was a fun get together and probably our wildest party yet – we had people over and rocking out with Rock Band until after 11 pm on a Sunday night – that is crazy for us.  🙂

0 Responses to “perfect party cake”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

